Plasma generators

For a plasma system to work, it needs a generator. Which frequency is best for the desired plasma treatment cannot be answered in general terms, but must be decided on a case by case basis. Diener has been offering plasma generators with a frequency of between 50 kHz and 2.45 GHz in its product range for many years, now 13.56 MHz generators have been specially developed and produced, which come with 100 and 300 watt versions.

Advantages of 13.56 MHz generators:


  1. RIE operation possible
  2. Homogeneity is better than at 2.45 GHz
  3. Etching rate is higher for the same power than at 40 kHz
  4. Metal rotary drums can be easily used
  5. Electrodes/product carriers can be constructed, but the balancing of the electrodes is very laborious
  6. Good for front-end and back-end semiconductor processes
  7. High deposition rates for plasma polymerization processes

Main applications areas for both powers are plasma applications for activation, cleaning, etching, semiconductor (front-end), semiconductor (back-end) and plasma polymerization. Impedance matching can be achieved either manually (manual matching) or automatically (auto matching) and is necessary in all cases, which is why the HF system consists of a generator and matching.

During manual matching, the matching process must be set at each process start and checked and adjusted sporadically during the process; the capacitors are automatically adjusted and readjusted following changes.

In addition, it is also possible to display the forward and reverse power, safety shutdown via the door switch and vacuum safety switch, quartz-stabilized frequency to comply with EN 55011 and a PC interface.

Click here to learn more about the individual generators:

13.56 MHz Generator - 100 watts

13.56 MHz Generator - 300 watts

Automatching for 13.56 MHz

LFG generator - 500 W (80 kHz)

LFG generator - 1200 W (80 kHz)

LFG generator - 3000 W (80 kHz)

LFG generator - 5000 W (80 kHz)

MW generator - 850 W (2.45 GHz)

Plasma-Generatoren

Damit eine Plasmaanlage funktioniert, bedarf es eines Generators. Welche Frequenz dabei die beste Frequenz für die gewünschte Plasmaanwendung ist, kann nicht allgemein beantwortet werden, sondern muss von Fall zu Fall entschieden werden. Nachdem Diener electronic bereits seit Jahren Plasma-Generatoren mit einer Frequenz von 50 kHz und 2,45 GHz im Produktangebot hat, kommen nun die eigens entwickelten und produzierten 13,56 MHz-Generatoren mit 100 und 300 Watt dazu.

Vorteile der 13,56 MHz-Generatoren: 

  1. RIE-Betrieb möglich
  2. Homogenität ist besser als bei 2,45 GHz
  3. Ätzrate ist bei gleicher Leistung höher als bei 40 kHz
  4. Metalldrehtrommeln können problemlos verwendet werden
  5. Es können Elektroden/Warenträger aufgebaut werden, die Symmetrierung der Elektroden ist aber sehr aufwändig
  6. Geeignet für Front- und Back-End-Halbleiterprozesse
  7. Hohe Beschichtungsraten bei Plasma-Polymerisationsprozessen

Hauptanwendungsgebiete sind bei beiden Leistungen die Plasmaanwendungen aktivieren, reinigen, ätzen, Halbleiter (front-end), Halbleiter (back-end) und Plasmapolymerisation. Die Impedenzanpassung kann sowohl manuell (handmatching) als auch automatisch (automatching) erfolgen, ist aber in jedem Fall erforderlich, weshalb das HF-System aus Generator und Matching besteht.

Während beim Handmatching die Matching bei jedem Prozessstart eingestellt und während des Prozesses sporadisch kontrolliert und nachgestellt werden muss, werden die Kondensatoren automatisch eingestellt und bei Veränderungen nachgeregelt.

Möglich sind außerdem die Anzeige der Vorwärts- und Rückwärtsleistung, Sicherheitsabschaltung über Türschalter und Vakuumsicherheitsschalter, quarzstabilisierte Frequenz um DIN EN 55011 einzuhalten und eine PC-Schnittstelle.

Klicken Sie hier und erfahren Sie mehr über die einzelnen Generatoren: